Saturday, 22 October 2016
Information for the Press N°: 

Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, the United States of America, Honduras, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru and Uruguay


Reaffirming their firm commitment to democratic principles and values and to the defence of human rights, the undersigned Governments express their profound concern over the decision reached by the National Electoral Council of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela to postpone the process for collecting 20% of the list of voters required to activate the recall referendum.

Both the paralyzation of the process, which was set to take place on 26-28 October, and the decision by the Venezuelan Judiciary to ban the main leaders of the Venezuelan opposition from leaving the country adversely affect the possibility of establishing a dialogue process between the Government and the opposition that enables a peaceful solution to the critical situation of our sister nation.

The undersigned Governments reiterate their call upon all political actors in Venezuela to engage—either directly or with the support of facilitators—in efforts to reach a nationwide dialogue as soon as possible and in a peaceful environment, in order to find long-lasting solutions in favour of democracy and social stability, ensuring the utmost respect for human rights, separation of powers and the strengthening of institutions.


Press release No. 355/16.

Press Office: 4819-7375 / 8296 / 7388


Originally published at

Previous articleNovember Update – Miami-Dade County Elected Leadership and COVID-19 New Normal Guidelines
Next articleNews to Use – July 6, 2020